Start time, schedule, TV, streaming schedule for the race

the Indianapolis 500 returns in its rightful place on the calendar – Sunday Memorial Day weekend – after the 2020 race was moved to August due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

And fans will be back for “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing” at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, but not at full capacity.

Penske Entertainment Corp. and Marion County, Indiana Public Health Officials determined that this year’s race would have a 40% capacity, so up to 135,000 fans can attend. Although it is well below the pre-pandemic attendance – IMS typically hosts 300,000 people on race day – Sunday will still be the largest gathering of people at a sporting event since the start of the coronavirus outbreak.

Here’s all the information you need to get ready for the 2021 Indy 500, Sunday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway:

Driver Simon Pagenaud leads the field at the start of the 103rd Indianapolis 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on May 26, 2019.

START TIME: Noon ET. GREEN FLAG: 12:45 p.m. ET.

TV: NBC. The pre-race broadcast begins at 11 a.m. ET. NBCSN will have pre-race coverage even earlier starting at 9 a.m. ET.

RADIO: IndyCar radio network and SiriusXM channel 205.

DIFFUSION: (must have a TV provider) and the NBC Sports app.


RUNNING DISTANCE: 200 laps around the Indianapolis Motor Speedway of 2.5 miles for a total of 500 miles.

LAST TIME: Takuma Sato led 27 laps, including the last 16, before winning on bail on August 23, 2020. Sato, who also won the Indy 500 in 2017, stood up to Scott Dixon, who led a record 111 laps.

Takuma Sato and his team Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing celebrate winning the 104th Indianapolis 500 on August 23, 2020. The race has been delayed for three months due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

QUALIFICATION: Six times IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon won pole in Fast Nine qualifying A week ago. It was the fourth career pole in the Indy 500 for Dixon, who won pole in 2008.

DIXON:Talks winning Indy 500 pole, driving 240 mph, spooky crash in 2017

ALIGN: Thirty-three qualified cars and survived Bump Day to make the ground. Here is the lineup for the 105th edition of the Indianapolis 500.

1. Scott Dixon, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

2. Colton Herta, Andretti Autosport with Curb-Agajanian, Honda

3. Rinus VeeKay, Ed Carpenter Racing, Chevrolet

4. Ed Carpenter, Ed Carpenter Racing, Chevrolet

5. Tony Kanaan, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

6. Alex Palou, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

7. Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport, Honda

8. Helio Castroneves, Meyer Shank Racing, Honda

9. Marcus Ericsson, Chip Ganassi Racing, Honda

10. Alexander Rossi, Andretti Autosport, Honda

11. Ed Jones, Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan

12. Pato O’Ward, Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan

13. Pietro Fittipaldi, Dale Coye Racing with Rick Ware Racing, Honda

14. Felix Rosenqvist, Arrow McLaren SP, Chevrolet

15. Takuma Sato, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda

16. James Hinchcliffe, Andretti Autosport, Honda

17. Scott McLaughlin, Penske Team, Chevrolet

18. Graham Rahal, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda

19. Conor Daly, Ed Carpenter Racing, Chevrolet

20. Jack Harvey, Meyer Shank Racing, Honda

21. Josef Newgarden, Penske Team, Chevrolet

22. JR Hildebrand, AJ Foyt Racing, Chevrolet

23. Santino Ferrucci, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, Honda

24. Juan Pablo Montoya, Arrow McLaren SP, Chevrolet

25. Marco Andretti, Andretti Herta-Haupert with Marco and Curb-Agajanian, Honda

26. Simon Pagenaud, Penske team, Chevrolet

27. Sébastien Bourdais, AJ Foyt Racing, Chevrolet

28. Stefan Wilson, Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport, Honda

29. Max Chilton, Carlin, Chevrolet

30. Dalton Kellett, AJ Foyt Racing, Chevrolet

31. Sage Karam, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, Chevrolet

32. Will Power, Penske team, Chevrolet

33. Simona de Silverstro, Paretta Autosport, Chevrolet

Source link

About Shelley Hales

Check Also

CDC drops mask mandate for outdoor transit

Before the change in guidelines, masks were to remain mandatory until September 13. TYLER, Texas …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *